Posted by: cmittermeier | April 27, 2011

Foreign countries, food, and flying

After having a lot more high calorie foods than I’m used to for Easter, I’m ready to make sure this trip will bring the scale down and not up.  I do not regularly travel anymore, its been three years since I flew last.  I know the plane does strange things to our bodies, especially long flights.  I am pretty good at staying hydrated on flights, but I still get headaches.

I’ve been putting a lot of thought into the food while I’m over there.  We will be walking a great deal, and for the Beatification and Vigil of John Paul II there will be a lot of standing in place.  I know there will be few options for food an drink for those days.  I’m thinking of things like trail mix and bottled water, and I know I’m going to have to watch myself.  I’m the type of gal who likes to feel full, and trail mix packs a lot of nutrition into little tiny packages.  It will be a balancing act, do we carry a lot of fruit (bulky) with us?  I’m not sure what other options there are, but I’ll see what I can get when I’m there.

I am looking forward to the fruit.  Though we have a wide variety here in Canada, there is something special about eating weird fruit when you travel… though I might never pick it up here I am willing to try things when on vacation.  Fruit especially, I loved fresh limes hand picked from my sister’s lime tree when we visited California a few years back.  I am not so sure about veggies, I’m afraid I still hold back on tasting different vegetables.  Meats, that I’m all for new ones as with cheeses.

I’m going to take my pedometer with me, and hopefully I’ll be able to post everyday my steps along with a few details of where those steps were taken.  I am tired right now, I spent much of the day getting my house ready for my hubby while I’m away.  He’s a neat freak and I know if I didn’t leave the house clean he’s spend a lot of time cleaning it.  I still need to get a few groceries, but on the whole this side is ready… well, I still need to get my suitcase down from the loft.

As to my own packing, I have barely started.  I have a few ideas on what I’ll bring but I have not settled on my handbag.  I’m thankful that I have a purse on a string to keep money under your clothes, and some other travel gear.  Oh!  My hubby is here so I can get my suitcase down!  Guess its real folks, I’m going!

Leave a Reply

Categories

