Posted by: cmittermeier | May 6, 2011

Back from Rome

It will take a long time to fully reflect on the past week.  I will slowly write more posts on various facets – The Beatification, Retreating into churches in a city full of tourists, Walking and Navigating Rome, and responsibility in blogging and probably many more as things come out.

We did not have as good a spot as we could have had for the Beatification because, well, at 4:00AM Rome time, I almost fainting while standing in the crowd for the Beatification Mass… My blood sugar had dipped, but the larger problem was that my blood pressure had dropped because I was not drinking enough.  We did not have access to a toilet, so all of us had stopped drinking and while I was drinking more than others, it was not enough.  A little Intravenous at the first aid station and I was sort of ready to go back, but we stayed away from the fluid crowd that was bringing more hurt individuals to the first aid station as it pushed forward.    This event was not a shining example of how to handle 1.5 million people, but it certainly held a lot of meaning for me and would gladly do it again.

I spent a great deal of time praying as I walked the streets gawking at all the buildings, the cobblestones and the lack of road signs.  I enjoyed greatly sitting in churches and praying, especially at the less touristy churches.  On early Monday evening, after a day of reflection and prayer I realized that I had to go half way around the world to realize how important that quiet time with God is.   I run our Mother’s Group, Mary’s Corner at my church and we spend an hour with the Blessed Sacrament.  With toddlers present, you can imagine it is not an hour spent on our knees deep in prayer.   As wonderful as Mary’s Corner is, as he one who is “in charge” of the time, I need to seek out more quiet time with God than I am getting in the group.

I got to sit in on the informal meeting of the bloggers, held at a great Irish Pub the day after the Official Vatican Bloggers meeting.  It was interesting and I took a lot from it.  One thing I will try to incorporate much more was direct links when I speak on church and faith.  I am not officially blogging as a reporter for the news might, but I am still under Romes authority as all Christians are.  Jesus set up the church to guide us.   You can google apologetics and ‘one holy catholic church’ to get many lay explanations, but here it is in the catechism: http://www.vatican.va/archive/ccc_css/archive/catechism/p123a9p4.htm  I am not an official employee or have a specific spiritual director for my blogging, but I’m hoping that by making sure I always link back to the church, I will stay closer to the ideals in the 4th commandment and being obedient.

I also decided it was time to branch out a bit and not just talk about the one struggle that will never leave me, my health.  You can look forward to additional pages coming up, but like this blog they will focus on the practical applications of our faith.  We are meant to take Sunday into Monday folks!

I will leave you with one of the biggest fruits of my time in all those churches.

Although if I should wish to boast, I would not be foolish, for I would be telling the truth. But I refrain, so that no one may think more of me than what he sees in me or hears from me because of the abundance of the revelations. Therefore, that I might not become too elated, a thorn in the flesh was given to me, an angel of Satan, to beat me, to keep me from being too elated.
Three times I begged the Lord about this, that it might leave me, but he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is made perfect in weakness.” I will rather boast most gladly of my weaknesses, in order that the power of Christ may dwell with me.  Therefore, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and constraints, for the sake of Christ; for when I am weak, then I am strong.
2 Corinthians 12:7-10

Yes, with all the walking I lost 3lbs of the weight I gained around Easter, but not all of it.  I ate only three meals out of restaurants when in Rome.  I had brought trail mix in pre-measured amounts along with nuts and soy nuts.  We had breakfast at the hotel and the portions were old school normal – or very small to North American ha haa.  I had Gelato a few days, and did have Tiramisu on my last night there.  We walked, and walked, and walked and walked and walked.  I will spend some time trying to figure out just how far we went as my pedometer broke the first day.  It will be hard as we did get lost a lot, adding extra steps as we often had to retrace and guess what road to take.

Getting to a truly healthy lifestyle will be a constant battle for me, the Lord is not going to take the thorn away.  As I prayed in Rome the above scripture kept coming to my thoughts.  He isn’t going to make it easy – his grace is ENOUGH – and that doesn’t mean a walk in the park like I want it to be.  I am weak, I am a sensual person and a sloth.  He will give me ENOUGH grace to do what needs to be done, but he will not take away the temptation to sit instead of walk nor will he shrink my stomach so I fill up faster etc. etc. etc.  Sufficient grace does not mean easy road – it is the promise of a road.

I am off to get ready for the big day of settling back in.  I am filled with HOPE and I pray you are too…

Responses

  1. Hi Louise,

    First off, welcome back! Thanks for sharing and I look forward to hearing more 🙂

    What do you mean by “Touristy churches”? Please explain.
    I love that you were able to identify you need more quiet time with God. I think that is why I meditate. It is my time alone and very still with one. God. He is in all of us.

    Mmm…Gelato. Lucky ducky.

    xo

    • There’s a tonne of churches in Rome, some are more famous than others. The very well known churches will have lots of people in them admiring the artwork and taking pictures. Even though they are very respectful, it is easier to be quiet when there are fewer people and they aren’t walking around. Hugs back at ya!


Leave a Reply

Categories

