Posted by: cmittermeier | May 12, 2011

Do Calories count when you’re sick?

I am a wuss, I know.  A simple cold and I am acting like a big baby.  I am not normally a vain person, but illness brings me back to my youth when I would use it to get attention.  Woe is me, I still haven’t broken the habit.

I have lost my sense of smell and it has some interesting effects.  I use Theives oil as my cure-all and it has a wonderful smell.  Made with cinnamon and cloves, along with others, a friend once described it as a hot toddy for your body.  I can’t smell it at all.  Yesterday when I took a bath I put some in the water and after made sure to rub it on my feet and neck… but I couldn’t smell it on my hands and so when I was drying my face accidently got it too close…  Theives oil is very strong, and though you can take it orally, it needs to be diluted to be placed on sensitive skin or else it burns.   I did it again today!

Normally when I’ve got a cold my appetite goes down, but it hasn’t with this one.  I have been craving ice cream with the sore throat and so I’m really hoping that our body uses more calories when its fighting bugs.   I have been drinking lots of fluids, including more juice than normal.  Though I’m talking about 100% juice, it still has a lot more calories than water.  I’ve upped the spices, but that came with more carbohydrates than I normally munch on… in the end I’m pretty sure I’m fighting this one the wrong way.

So I’m off to try and sleep, one thing I know won’t add more problems.

Responses

  1. Splurge on the fizzy water 🙂 Cheer up!!!

  2. Nin Jiom Pei Pa Koa (http://ninjiom-hk.cwahi.net/) may be another choice. i know alot of people use it, its also non alcoholic, though it’s effectiveness is not as good as alcohol based cough medicine, but it’s still good to use on not so serious sore throat.


Leave a Reply

Categories

