Posted by: cmittermeier | May 17, 2011

Calories in – Calories out = …

I like many blogs, fatgirlusa.wordpress.com is one that I like a lot.  The other night when I peaked at her blog, I realized she was using it to keep her daily food and exercise log.  Very accountable!  I have never been able to do daily logs for more than a few days, but I know how crucial it will be.  St. Ignatius was very specific in the need for frequent examinations.  God knows I need to do it, I certainly will try… and so here is my numbers for today:

Around 1800 calories in, over an hour of biking, about 330 calories burned.  I am on track to loosing between 1-2 pounds a week.  I am using Lose it to track myself.

Daily examination is part of the Catholic Faith, and its also a nice way to end the day.  There are five steps to St. Ignatius’ examine.

1. Become aware of God’s presence.

2. Review the day with gratitude.

3. Pay attention to your emotions.

4. Choose one feature of the day and pray from it.

5. Look toward tomorrow.

Makes a lot of sense for any endeavour doesn’t it?  I wish I had the eloquence to explain each step to you, but thankfully God has given us many who already have!  For those who like to hold a book in hand, I recommend The Examen by Fr. Timothy Gallagher.  For those who like to learn as they surf, The Daily Examen is a great place to start.

Responses

  1. This blog is nice. To be able to achieve your goal of losing weight, ask guidelines from weight watchers. They service is to assist their clients in proper way of eating habits and lifestyle to achieve their goal of reducing weight. Cheers!

    • Actually I have used weight watchers many times in my life, it is a solid program and I would recommend it to people. I know what I need to do, that’s not really my issue. My issue is I like to indulge and don’t want there to be consequences – its all standard human pride – ie its more a spiritual battle than anything else. Like the philosopy of AA (which was founded on the beatitudes), I need to rely on something greater than myself. i am a sinner, i am a glutton – but that doesn’t mean I will stay that way!


Leave a Reply

Categories

