Posted by: cmittermeier | May 26, 2011

Calorie log – catch-up!

Amazing how busy some days can get, and when you have ADHD its so easy to wander away from things.  Here’s the numbers for the last two days:

  • Tuesday: Calories In=1696     Calories Out=247   – On track for 1-2 pound loss
  • Wednesday – Our anniversary:Calories In=2246     Calories Out=96  – over, but the week isn’t done

Today I had a luncheon to go to, I am proud to say I managed to only have a tiny sliver of apple pie for dessert, walking right past my favourite type of cake, a cheesecake that looked wonderful, and handmade pastries filled with cream.  I will need to make a dinner that is on the light side to compensate for the fact that I had lasagna and in total I had over 900 calories in it….  and yet on the surface my choices looked good.

  • 2″x3″ piece of veal lasagna
  • 1.5 cups of cooked veggies
  • 3/4 cup spring mix salad with poppy seed dressing
  • 8 small round tortilla chips
  • salsa
  • 1/2 pineapple slice
  • honeydew & cantaloupe slice
  • 2″x3″ square of Italian flat bread
  • 1/16 slice apple pie

When I was at my anniversary dinner on Wednesday I choose items that I knew were healthy – up to the DESSERT!  When I sat down to log it, I was disappointed to find out that some of my choices were not as healthy as I expected.  The seasonal veggies – mainly broccoli and carrots had 25grams of fat attached to them.  I will certainly look twice the next time we go to that restaurant.

I have spent sometime this week thinking about my overall plan.  I get a decent bike ride 2-3 times a week, but I need to get more strength training exercises in.  One of my health providers will give me some floor and ball exercises to help with my back and I will add some arm to balance things out.  I also need to make sure that I’m getting a walk on the days I don’t bike.  We need to move everyday and I’ve been letting that slide.

I want to draw your attention to Chantel Hobbs.  This woman hit rock bottom when she was 29 and well over 300 pounds.  She has written books about her journey, and like mine it all started with God.  In a very loving way, when she hit the floor she heard God speak to her, you’re not doing your best.  As I listened to her describe it I was left with the sense of a wonderful parent inspiring a child to reach their potential by showing the child how strong they really are.  I have thought a lot about those words since listening to the interviews and I invite you do to the same.

Responses

  1. Thank you for a great post.


Leave a Reply

Categories

