Posted by: cmittermeier | June 3, 2011

Calorie log – Extra in means I better put extra out

I had a wonderful lunch out with my hubbie yesterday.  It was a spur of the moment thing as we ran some errands and I was able to make some good choices.  We talked about desserts… I’m the type who can’t easily say NO when dessert is around, he isn’t one to want a nightly treat, but he does like to have a once weekly indulgence.  We split a brownie and ice cream and since then I’ve been thinking a lot about how to make dessert work – for both of us.  Quantity is the issue… I know how to bake, but not how to bake small amounts.  I am not a big fan of frozen desserts, they just don’t taste as good, but its a option to start with.

Now yesterday I did go overboard in a big way because I was snacking on bowls of cereal.  By the end of the day I was around 2300 calories, but there was some exercise to offset it and today I am putting in our vegetable garden.  While I may not yet believe the calorie count for pulling dandelions, I certainly don’t disagree with the estimates on turning over dirt.  Its hard work.  The added benefits to a garden is that to maintain it I must continue the effort, and that is a good thing.  The fact that we get a little bit of food from it is really just a bonus.  For me its more about seeing things grow, as silly as it sounds, I still have that childhood awe that seeds turn in to plants, plants make flowers, flowers make food.

So I’m off to put in the lettuce and the carrots!

Leave a Reply

Categories

