Posted by: cmittermeier | August 30, 2011

God Provides

This post has nothing to do with weight loss has to do with hope.

I don’t have a lot of extra money to throw around, and normally that isn’t a big problem.  This last month I went a bit overboard with my essential oils (I’ll write you all about those another day), so I don’t have any play money left.  I am not interested in walking around stores, and as long as I don’t go to stores I don’t spend money.  The only store I frequent is the grocery store and generally there isn’t much to tempt me there!  At least, I should say, its not often there is something in the grocery store that interests me.

This summer I spent my time with my mother-in-law, and its only natural it would have me thinking more about my own Mom.  I found that I missed her a lot, that I kept finding drawn to reminders of her. Everything about my Mom was blue – by the time she died her whole house was very elegantly decorated in blue.  The walls were a very slightly off-white blue, the furniture had blue accents, the living room carpet was blue… When I see blue I immediately think of her.  She had a great green thumb, she could grow just about anything and I love gardening because of how beautiful hers always looked.  Right now all the grocery stores around us are filled with one of many the  flowers my mother cultivated and loved – the orchid.    I have been walking by the orchids for weeks now, knowing that I couldn’t justify buying one.

Coming home was mixed, I was overwelmed and was fortunate that a friend reached out just when I needed it.  Her calm emails kept me from going too far out of whack, she was like a lifeline of steady-as-she-goes.  She stopped by today, and in her arms was…

A beautiful orchid sitting in a blue pot.

Now how perfect is that?  She knows nothing about my Mom, I’ve never let out to anyone that I want to get an orchid… this was just between God an her!

God hears the prayers we do not say but hold in our hearts, He knows when we need a pick me up before we do, and when you put Him first, he takes care of you.  No, you can’t plan these things, but you can trust they will come when you need them.  Hope is real.  Many, many thanks to my friend who follows God’s lead, it is very cool to have such great roll models!

Responses

  1. BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!
    Thanks for sharing and for the Reminder…

  2. How to cultivate a life? How to cultivate an orchid? I look forward to your tips. I managed to kill my first one with over-care. And then my second one nearly survived my total neglect, until it too had to say goodbye.

    “We all have our strengths and weaknesses” my girlfriend announced when we turned 30. Yes, yes, of course, I thought. And then her comment seemed somehow profound, and illuminating – a true light bulb moment. I can still see the cartoon balloon above my head.

    As for buying stuff, it seems to me that many North Americans spend the first half of their lives accumulating stuff, and then the next half of their lives getting rid of their stuff. This has been confirmed by my friend who is a professional organizer. Yes, indeed, people pay her $50+/hour to get rid of the stuff that they’ve already paid for! http://www.napo.net

    Truth is stranger than fiction, but it is because Fiction is obliged to stick to possibilities; Truth isn’t. Mark Twain

    Check out the video “The Story of Stuff” http://www.storyofstuff.com

    How to cultivate a life? How to cultivate an orchid?

    p.s. How can I change the font?

    • Orchids are easy to kill. I’ll review the care with my sisters, a few of them inherited the green thumb – though I have too I haven’t worked with Orchids since the early 90’s. I promise to post on it soon!

  3. I love how God hears you and, if you are open, lets you know that He is near. How blessed we are to have someone who cares so much for us.
    PS: I found this post inspiring and though I would share it with my friends on facebook. Thank you for sharing.

  4. p.s. #2 See video link below for “Maria Shriver on Grieving” the loss of her mother. I will never forget her describing her “tsunami of grief”.

    http://www.womensconference.org/the-womens-conference-2009/video/maria-shriver/


Leave a Reply

Categories

