Posted by: cmittermeier | November 7, 2011

Holidays and Second Helpings

I am no longer one of those people who wishes we had more holidays.  I grew up before the February holiday (called Family Day) and in light of recent discoveries, I see a point to that long stretch without a holiday.  You see, its easier to eat normally when you don’t have feasts popping up all over the place!  How do you stay on track when there is so many yummy things to tempt you?  Think of how much easier it would be to go from January 1st to mid March without a reason to scarf down chocolates?

Yes, if you haven’t guessed, between the kids halloween candy and other feasts (my son turned 11), I am up 1.2 pounds this week.  Not much you say?  Excuse me, you didn’t have to work you pa-toodie off to get that 1.2 off… The really yukky part is I was restraining myself, I could have easily scarffed down a lot more.   Holidays bring second helpings and lots of food we shouldn’t eat.  That’s just how we do it.  Its not a party unless there’s chips, right?  Its not a fun night unless you have a pig feast, right?

Funny, but I don’t think those last two sentences are true yet I lived them out this last weekend.  I can have fun without eating a bunch of unhealthy food.  I can have a party with veggies and dip instead of chips.  Problem is I didn’t plan this last one too well.  I am the one to bring the healthy stuff, and this week I was out of it.  I let my hubbie decide on snacks, and his choices were deep fried shrimp, bacon wrapped something… you get the idea.  I am not yet at the point where I can rely on him for help.  I’m hoping I can get a few others on board to help, staying on track is just too hard on my own.  I will start to slip and I don’t want that.

I will try and get that 1.2 off this week, and I have one other goal I wanted to tell you about.  This week I’m going to try biking not just to church, a downhill ride, but back home.  Now I just need to remind myself that just ’cause I’m doing more doesn’t mean I get to eat more!

Now off to sleep!

Leave a Reply

Categories

