Posted by: cmittermeier | December 5, 2011

Hypogyclemia will not stop me

It just had to happen, didn’t it?  4.0 … nausea …

Eat some protein.  Now I’ll wait 20 minutes and test again.  Hypoglycemia doesn’t mean run out and eat sugar.

Hypoglycemia is easily controlled, but it makes it way too easy to eat more than one should.  It will not stop me from doing what I need to do to loose weight, but it does means I have a narrower path to follow.  I have to be very diligent about what I eat, and when.  Yesterday I had a Christmas party, and during the day I munched on things I shouldn’t – so I’m not surprised that today my sugars are a bit of a roller coaster.  It is annoying though.  It means for the next few days I’m back to testing my sugar every 2 hours.

Extra work.  Extra thought energy.  Mind you, it keeps my mind from self-defeating thoughts.  I have found lately that its when the road is the smoothest that it is also the slipperiest.  When I have to work harder, that’s when I get the best results.  I remember growing up hearing the saying ‘Idle hands are the devil’s playground’.  If I have little to keep my mind occupied, it is very easy for negative thoughts to encroach.  If I’ve got things to keep me reasonably engaged I do better.  Mind you, too much is still too much!

Good.  5.7  Now I can go hang up my laundry.

Responses

  1. I hope you are feeling better and my grandma use to always say that… Idle hands are the devil’s playground. Engagement is always the key to a healthy and happy mind. Bridgette

    • Thanks Bridgette! We’re getting there! I picked up another pair of smaller pants on Friday, its so much easier to stay on track when your clothes aren’t falling off making you think you’re already there…

  2. Thanks for placing up this article. I’m unquestionably frustrated with struggling to research out pertinent and rational commentary on this matter. everyone now goes in the direction of the amazingly much extremes to possibly generate home their viewpoint that either: everyone else within earth is wrong, or two that everyone but them does not genuinely recognize the situation. pretty numerous many thanks for the concise, pertinent insight….


Leave a Reply

Categories

