Posted by: cmittermeier | January 18, 2012

Will Power, Self-Control and God

Last year (via the net) I followed  a long term friend who lives a few thousand kilometers away from me as she lost a significant amount of weight.  She exercised regularly, she ate consistently well and it worked.  She had amazing will-power!  Over that same time period I lost 13 pounds.  Over the last three weeks I have gained some of that back, though I do not have an accurate amount to tell you as this time of the month adds at least a few pounds.  On the one hand, I don’t have much to show, but on the other I can tell you that it is coming off at a similar rate that it went on.

With a gift card I purchased for myself “Never Say Diet”, a book I have mentioned before that goes over the story of Chantal Hobbs.  I knew she had a piece that I was missing.  I am now finished the book and will be passing it on to a friend tomorrow.  I feel like I was just handed the answer.  For the first time in likely my life, but at the very least for the last many years, I can say with 100% confidence that by June I will be very near (if not at) the weight I should stay at for the rest of my life.  It will happen.  Her book is not a how-to by the way… its not some program that if you do X you can expect to loose weight.  If you are reading this for weight-loss support – YOU NEED TO READ HER BOOK.

As my last post indicated, I had turned to food when life got too much.  I hit confession twice in that time period with it.  I felt something change just before the last confession, at the 24 minute mark on the treadmill, remember?  Now I have the words to go along with that change.  I now realize there are other ways to handle stress instead of oral satisfaction.  Moreover, I know, with confidence, where to turn when I run dry.

Chantal Hobbs is not some super woman of weight-loss who did it all on her own – she did it on God power.  Though I knew her story in general, reading the specifics pin-pointed where I was failing and more importantly, what I need to do.  Beyond that knowledge, it was knowing that its not some pie-in-the-sky, airy-fairy just do it but concrete, dependable, realistic.   It wasn’t based on will-power, something I have till a major crisis… it was in her words, “surrender”, or in mine, God Power.

I know my will power sucks, I know I can be tempted beyond my ability to resist.  I have also been limiting God, saying that my temptation for food, my inability to turn to God in times of stress was beyond His ability to fix.  The supreme being of the universe that set the stars in motion… I kept thinking he only gave me so much will power, I just can’t do what my sister and friend can do because they had something I didn’t.

But Chantal Hobb’s power to say NO did not come from herself.  It came from something bigger than herself, something bigger than me, something bigger than any problem.  It came from God.  I needed, in concrete, unmistakable, indelible ink, to read that it was possible – no not just possible – guaranteed.  My self-control will come from God.  He will come through for me.

Thank You God!

Responses

  1. Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

