Posted by: cmittermeier | January 28, 2012

6 out of 6

I have to start off by saying that when you’ve got to say no to temptation, it really does work to just ask God!  This week, like many recently, proved to be very full with a lot of stressful sections.  One day I came home and had had enough – I instinctively went to the kitchen for comfort foods.  I started – and then stopped.  I knew I needed comfort.  I knew I had made a promise to turn to God for that, instead of food.  It was a very stressful time, but I never went for the cookies and milk.  Since then, I’ve had several temptations to deal with and every time  I first say my prayer – I stop.

I can’t wait to get on the scale Monday morning!

But its not just that I haven’t gone to town on food, I’ve also consistently kept up my exercise.  It was tricky, there were a few days when I got interrupted just before my cool down, but I only lost 2 minutes each time.  On Friday, I really didn’t want to get on the treadmill… so I made my prayer public by posting it on my Facebook page.  It was slow going for the first 15 minutes, then I got carried away practicing a talk I’ll be giving in March and – voila – I found myself walking 51 minutes in total.  This means I kept up my exercise all 6 days I’d planned on doing it.  Thankfully tomorrow is the Sabbath and I don’t have to face the treadmill.  Though I do plan on taking the boys swimming in the afternoon, but playing around in a pool isn’t really exercising.

I have been loosing the weight I put on over the holidays, a few more weeks and I should be back to my lowest weight.  It is such a difference to look ahead and realize that it  will happen.  I still have my questions though, it still seems rather odd that I have to be so strict with my food intake or my blood sugar goes low.  Shouldn’t my liver kick in and release fat?  I’ve got blood work to do, and I’m trying to read up on stuff that might be factoring in.

Today when I was on the treadmill I thought more about the Camino.  I still have no idea why I would walk it – but I am still convinced that I am to walk it.  I pondered when it will be that I do it, and with whom will I walk.  I have a feeling I won’t be walking alone, though I dread that idea.  I love people in small doses, and the older I get, the smaller the dose.  Even my boys know that by the end of the day Mommy needs her space.   Mind you, there is another view to this.  When I think of all the people who cross my mind, maybe what I’m walking for is them.  I like that idea very, very much.  What a wonderful prayer to offer up.

As I walked on the treadmill I went over many of the differences.  The Camino has hills; my treadmill is old and used and doesn’t elevate.  I also have only a limited amount of time to walk each day, but I’ll have to walk most of the day then.  I would like to look into how far I’ll be walking each day.  I look forward to when I have time to play more with the distances traveled.  It would be a  fun way to record my treadmill journey by comparing it to the road to travel.

Well my friends, the journey continues.  I look forward to you seeing less of me, ha ha, as you read more of my journey.  To the best me I can be!

Responses

  1. FYI…Playing in the Pool IS Exercise TOO!! 😉

    I am SO PROUD OF YOU!!!

    You are teaching me, as you are on your journey…I keep using my foot as an excuse, though I shouldn’t…But I am 😦

    I have to start…I have all that holiday weight to lose…

    But the first thing I must do is Surrender this Journey and be honest as to why I want and will embark upon it….


Leave a Reply

Categories

