Posted by: cmittermeier | May 23, 2012

Waiting to Bloom

I love planting.  I love harvesting.  Its all that in between stuff that I’m not good at.  You know, the waiting, the pruning, the watering, the feeding… and lets face it, life is 90% that stuff.  Waiting to Bloom should be the title of my autobiography for it feels like that’s all I do.

I sometimes wonder what success looks like.  I wonder if I can remember what my flowers look like.

I realized today that while I am waiting for some things to open, I have forgotten to celebrate the ones that have.  My Daisy’s are in full bloom, they will be like this for the next few months.  I realized as I pulled in the driveway that I have not spent enough time enjoying them.  My orchid’s blooms are opening, they have not died as the other blooms did.  I have not spent any time thanking God for such a beautiful flower.

Tomorrow I would like to do some work on my plants, but I will begin with thanks for what is growing and I won’t lament what is still yet to come.  Yes, there is a lot of work ahead, but I can’t focus on that.  I have to focus on the little things that are already in bloom, like my daisys.

Leave a Reply

Categories

