Posted by: cmittermeier | September 11, 2012

Heredity, Risk and Change

Over the summer I found myself making conscious choices to limit smoked and BBQ’d meats.  After a while it was noticed and I explained to my mother-in-law that due to my risk of colon cancer I wasn’t going to take the chance.  I’d already had three polyps removed and I have taken it seriously.  I have also increased my veggie and fruit in take, though it took some creativity because I am not a fruit person.

As I checked in with a few blogs I missed over the summer I found that my experiences with the colonoscopy were far from universal!  I slept through the whole thing, both times. I don’t know if it is just my doctors choice in medication, or how I reacted to the sedative, but boy am I glad that I got to sleep through it. The preparation, well that is another story, but from the first time I prepared for one to now it has certainly improved!  I will be going again in two and a half years, and I am thankful for it.  Having lost a mother to it I am glad to have these screenings available to me.  My healthcare system may not be perfect, but I can be happy that some of it works!

I’ve made some other dietary changes this summer, again they have more to do with avoiding negatives than seeking out positives.  This is worth much more thought.  I find with my spirituality that more often I am seeking out positive (though there still are times when its avoiding the pains of hell and not just love of God).  My body, however, is a different story!  I have not yet started to seek out the good.  Its like when I learned to budget my time and work on assignments ahead of time – it wasn’t that I wanted to be a good manager of time, it was because I couldn’t count on the time being there.

I wonder if I really do want the positives that come with a healthier life.  This must be taken to prayer, I will get back to you later…

Leave a Reply

Categories

