Posted by: cmittermeier | February 5, 2013

Turning a corner

Over the holidays I spent a lot of time in prayer.  I was trying to decide what I could drop from my plate.  I was unsatisfied with my December, I was a work horse wearing blinders and the work kept me going and going.  I took time to look around, see if I could plan out a bit better the road ahead.

If you want to make God laugh, make plans.

As you can guess, it didn’t go the way I wanted.  Each item I brought to prayer came with direction all right – just not the hoped for “yup, this one can go”.  The only thing I was given support to simplify was my house.  Look out charity, here comes pack rat haven.

I will be honest, I am a bit disappointed.  You see, I dropped balls in December.  I messed up.  People got hurt, pushed away.  Yes, Yes, I know, I know, God knows well how to make a masterpiece out of my broken pieces – but that doesn’t mean they needed to be broken in the first place.  As I faced one big mistake, I realized that I had been asking the wrong questions.  Well, not entirely the wrong questions.  Yes, I need guidance on what needs to be on the plate and what not, we all do.  What I needed to be asking about was “now, later, when”.

Today I looked again at all that is on my plate, all that is being left poorly done and realized it was time to let later be, well, later.  I sent off my first leave of absence announcement this afternoon.  Likely till the fall, my day time Mommy & Me time is stopped. I will still do my Mommy & Me visits, but the time at the church for now is gone.  I have a family, and they have to come first.

I have turned a corner, I have begun to unplug.

Leave a Reply

Categories

