Posted by: cmittermeier | July 1, 2013

Going Vegan

For nearly 9 months there have been lots of little prompting towards a vegan lifestyle. On Friday I got the last piece of the puzzle and I decide to take the plunge. For the next 30 days I will try to eat a fully vegan diet.
Over the next while I will write on the many steps that lead me here, but today is day 2 and I felt it was time to commit to documenting it online.
I have spent the last two days doing a fair amount of cooking, my freezer is stocked with my lentil, bean, or rice dishes (in individual servings). My fridge is stocked with veggies, I am going to try and eat two pounds a day (half cooked, half raw). I’ve got a bean dip and two very yummy healthy salad dressings at the ready.
So far this is easy, its not very different from my “good days”. I’d moved my smoothie to the morning and added spinach to it a month ago. My lunch had been a grab and go lentil or bean and rice dish for a while, all that gets added to that meal was salad. My dinners are different, in the past I’d have meat, veggies and potatoe or rice except for 2 night a week. Now I’ll have to find a way to keep all 7 weeknights yummy. I think I’m covered for the next two weeks, we’ll see how it goes from there.
Why now? Because its summer vacation for my kids and I’ll have more time to play around in the kitchen. I don’t have treasurer duties for parnt council, no more hot lunch on Fridays. This is the perfect time to learn a new routine. Secretly I am hoping it also means my sons will expand their food tastes, but small steps!
I encourage everyone out there to try an new thing this summer. 30 days to a new you!

Responses

  1. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d
    like to send you an email. I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

    • Feel free to use the comment boxes to send any info.

  2. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.


Leave a Reply

Categories

