Posted by: cmittermeier | January 30, 2014

Oh, I got guts all right… I’ve got ADHD

I’ve heard it said that the reason there is a disproportionate number of ADHD cases in North America is because many of the qualities of ADHD explain why people would buy into the insane idea of leaving everything with nothing but a penny in your pocket.  I think they’re right.  When we want something, our deeper focus keeps us going where others give up, even when things seem totally unreasonable.

Case in point.  I’m trying to get my fantasy/sci-fi work published.  One website said roughly 99% get rejected.  Imagine walking into an exam and being told you only pass if you get 99% or greater!  What a hoot – I’m going after a golden cup here.  Who else would think about trying to enter a career so exclusive, with no qualifications, and at my age?

I love writing, I have always been a story teller.  I am worth reading.  I can’t say why God choose an unreasonable task for me, but he did.  Really, that question doesn’t interest me.  How to achieve the task he gave me, that’s all that matters.  Today I spent a bit of time reviewing some of the literary agents in my home town.  I will be honest, its daunting.  I have a lot of rejection a head of me, in fact one could say its already begun.  Toronto is not a sci-fi/fantasy town.  I have a suspicion that I’ll have better luck looking at Vancouver.  Reading through the local websites has left me with few options.  Many doors closed today, and that means when I look again for agents I’ll be looking at other cities.  I’m okay with that, with the ease of skype and email, I don’t have to be in the same city.  I just may want to repaint the wall behind me before we have to meet…

Leave a Reply

Categories

