Posted by: cmittermeier | August 25, 2014

I lost my voice! Amazing how easy it is to hear God when…

After a couple of days with a minor sore throat, today I had to admit its time to let my body battle properly.  I’ve got little to no voice and even minor activity wears me out, so really I didn’t have much choice but to spend the time in bed.  I have to say I’m quite thankful for the time, it allowed me to re-read a few religious books I was thinking of passing along to some special people and I’m glad I did.  It made me smile when I realized the truth of an old childhood complaint my mother had, “you’ll never hear anything if you’re always talking”, that and “You use your ears to listen, not your mouth”.

I greatly enjoyed both the books, they reminded me of insights I will need as my boys grow in to young men.  Its very easy to forget just how brutal the world is on their self-worth.  The world tells us that material things fill the ache in our souls, that sex not only sells, but satisfies a hungry heart.  It sets a mans worth by his paycheck and car.  It teaches that a woman must be airbrushed to be beautiful.  It is rare that such things still catch me, but I’m human and from time to time they do.  As I read, I realized that my boys were reaching the age where the world would be soon testing them against these temptations.  Correction, that they already were.

More than the reminders in the books I appreciated the timely reminder to shut up and listen.  There are always a million and one excuses for not making time to listen to God’s word.  Just as I need to do a better job at finding time to log my food, get in a walk, I can’t let my prayer and meditation time slide.  And so I shall end off with one of my favourite poems, it sums up this reminder well.

The Difference (No Time To Pray)

I got up early one morning and rushed right into the day;
I had so much to accomplish, I didn’t have time to pray.
Problems just tumbled about me and grew heavier with each task;
Why doesn’t God help me, I wondered; He answered, “You didn’t ask.”

I wanted to see joy and beauty, but the day toiled on, gray and bleak;
I wondered why God didn’t show me – He said, “But you didn’t seek.”
I tried to come into God’s presence; I used all my keys at the lock;
God gently and lovingly chided, “My child, you didn’t knock.”

I woke up early this morning and paused before entering the day;
I had so much to accomplish that I had to take time to pray.

– Grace L. Naessens

Leave a Reply

Categories

