Posted by: cmittermeier | September 21, 2014

What to do with a weekend to myself Part II

SLEEP – next time I get this kind of weekend I’m going to try harder to get more sleep that first night.  I was toast by late afternoon!  I kept getting my dates confused, I had to read at mass and prepared with next weeks readings – yet at the same time kept thinking I was one week backwards!  I was totally disoriented.

I was too tired and my eating was super weird too – I don’t remember eating lunch at all, but I know I had two swiss babybels at some point.  Then at two I made bran muffins and ate 6 of them, then finished off the salsa I’d made from my garden tomatoes and just kept on eating the tortilla chips when I ran out of my salsa.  I was so tired I didn’t know what I was eating!  Not good at all, but at least it wasn’t cookies I was stuffing in.  I did fall asleep for a nap around five, but it wasn’t enough for me to be ready to tackle cleaning my kitchen, but I was able to finish the laundry.

The worst part was near the end of watching Numb3rs, I feel asleep on the couch and woke up as the next episode was starting.  Why was this bad you ask?  Because after I’d gotten ready for bed I couldn’t settle down and get back to sleep till one!  Ack!  After a dose of melatonin and an email to my hubby (its always a little hard to sleep when he’s not beside me) I was able to get to sleep and stayed asleep for a wonderfully long time.

Yes, I didn’t loose a heck of a lot of time to the weekend, but its easy to be discouraged by even a few hours that went off track.  I could have gotten the shopping done after mass if I’d been with it, or started some of the soups yesterday if I’d cleaned the kitchen – that kind of stuff.  Its very easy to beat up on ourselves, we all have weak spots, but that’s not what we’re supposed to do.  We are not to ruminate on what went wrong – we’re to admit it, learn from it so as to avoid it again, do the penance, and move on.  To go over the things we get wrong over and over is one form of scrupples – and we don’t do it.  I won’t spend today all bummed out on what didn’t get done.  So I learned – sleep well next time… now its time to deal with the stuff I left undone yesterday, and then I can get on with the next stuff (hopefully a library trip).

I love Catholicism, so helpful at getting unstuck.  Such a practical faith, don’t ya think?

Leave a Reply

Categories

