Posted by: cmittermeier | February 8, 2015

A Timely Sunday Reading

Reading 1 JB 7:1-4, 6-7

Job spoke, saying:
Is not man’s life on earth a drudgery?
Are not his days those of hirelings?
He is a slave who longs for the shade,
a hireling who waits for his wages.
So I have been assigned months of misery,
and troubled nights have been allotted to me.
If in bed I say, “When shall I arise?”
then the night drags on;
I am filled with restlessness until the dawn.
My days are swifter than a weaver’s shuttle;
they come to an end without hope.
Remember that my life is like the wind;
I shall not see happiness again.

I have been very careful about what I am eating and working very hard. I changed my workouts, and boy has it made a major difference! They are much harder than my old hand weight routine, and though both my Husband and I are getting better at the exercises, we are a long way from being able to do it well. I have yet to do a real push-up, but at least I can slightly bend my arms without collapsing and I can sort of push myself up when at the bottom. Lots of room to improve, and every time I do it I surprise myself with how much more I can do.

The real surprise has been that the scale has started to move in the direction I want it to. There is one slight problem… I’m at that place, that dangerous place where one starts to get confident. Combine that with a lot more hunger than expected… mayday! mayday! I’m worried. I have months left to go before I should let up on tracking and careful monitoring. I have months to go before I can afford to ignore the need to workout. I routinely fall prey to the confident trap… especially when I’m hungry. It is just so tempting to feed the hunger, after all, this is real hunger, not a craving. I almost ate two extra chocolate chip cookies with my afternoon snack… see what I mean?

This is a long journey, I have miles to go before I sleep so to speak so you can understand why todays reading grabbed my full attention. The priest spoke about all the readings today, Job was not to explain suffering, but about the battle we all have with God… the teenage battle that my confidence wants to trap me into making. It is weary to stay vigilant, weary to make the right choices because we will always have the option, if not the outright temptation, to make poor choices. We battle with the God who set the rules, who gave us choices and consequences. How much I would like to be able to eat cake and loose weight, to sit in my chair and build muscle, especially nice lean ones, you know like hers would be nice… Yes, this reading spoke to the weariness of the journey.

It felt good to remind myself I am not alone in walking it, and more important, to know there is hope at the end of my days. That comes from having read Job many times in my life. To say he came out on top is a spoiler, I know, but it does end well for him. So often when we look at bible figures, we gloss over their difficulties and focus only on those end credits. Today, I found great hope in repeating his weary words because if he went through this and came out on top, then so will I.

The bible is filled with people in difficult moments, connect with them; embrace their messages where and when you need them. We are not the first humans to battle sin, we are not the first humans to deal with temptations, join arms with those who have succeeded and march on. They have tonnes to teach us on how to win this battle, and even more to inspire us when we need a leg up. We were not meant to live life alone, we are not meant to have all the answers. We are meant to turn to God for guidance, and the bible is one sure place to find solace and answers. It really works.

Leave a Reply

Categories

