Posted by: cmittermeier | March 17, 2015

Fake it till ya Make it!

Today I was helping my husband out, paraphrasing and simplifying daily reflections so children can understand participate in the Consecration to Jesus thru Mary by St. Louis de Montfort.  In the first twelve days several of the reflections are from The Imitation of Christ, a book that is not written for tweens.  I summerized this paragraph as “Fake it till ya Make it”.

When a certain anxious person, who often times wavered between hope and fear, once overcome with sadness, threw himself upon the ground in prayer, before one of the altars in the Church and thinking these things in his mind, said “Oh, if I only knew how to persevere,” that very instant he heard within him, this heavenly answer: “And if thou didst know this, what would thou do? Do now what you would do, and thou shall be perfectly secure.” And immediately being consoled, and comforted, he committed himself to the Divine Will, and his anxious thoughts ceased. He no longer wished for curious things; searching to find out what would happen to him, but studied rather to learn what was the acceptable and perfect will of God for the beginning and the perfection of every good work.

I am happy with abbreviated explanation, but for adults I would like to draw more attention the end of the paragraph.  Consider the line, “He no longer wished for curious things; searching to find out what would happen to him, but studied rather to learn what was the accceptable and perfect will of God for the beginning and the perfection of every good work.”  Its a rather long sentence, lets break it up a little.

“He no longer wished for curious things;” what would this mean to those of us trying to make our bodies temples of the Holy Spirit?  To me it means that once you realize what you’re suppose to do you stop chasing false promises.  No more looking at ads for quick fixes, surgeries, new age remedies.  The second half of that line, “searching to find out what would happen to him” is not always easy.  How many of us love our daily horoscopes, palm readers, psychics to know how things will turn out?  We want the inside scope, the grand plan… but the next line reminds us that the grand plan has already been laid out.  “Learn what is acceptable and perfect will of God for the beginning and the perfection of every good work.”  Really it is nothing more than a reminder of  one of my favorite passages from Matthew,  “Seek God and everything else will be added unto you” 6:33.  

This month, I have been trying harder to live up to this passage from Thomas Aquinas.  I’m trying to fake it till I make it by forcing myself to be the person who exercises regularly – though I’m aiming for every day so far I’ve been able to manage every second day.  My route is basically 2 miles, and I can walk it in 30 minutes.  I’m trying to search out God’s will by spending more time in adoration, more time reading the bible and other religious posts.    I have been able to make it almost every day to either Mass or adoration, and I firmly beleive that it is my chapel time that is keeping me on track with the walking.   I have to develop the habit of regular exercise, and changing me will occur most easily when I follow the path God has already figured out.  Follow God’s will first, and all the rest shall be added unto you.

Build the lifestle I want, brick by brick.  First I tackled my eating, now I am tackling my exercise.  In God’s time I’ll get back to those wonderful videos that my husband liked, but for now I’m just working on that daily habit.  Every second day is a good start.  I am hopeful that once our basement is back in order God will move me to the next level, only a few more weeks and we should be back down there.

Leave a Reply

Categories

