Posted by: cmittermeier | September 1, 2016

Ugh! Trying to beat temptation

There is a huge temptation to eat ice cream and cookies. Actually, if I’m honest the temptations don’t end there… I’m being tempted to buy a whole whack load of stuff I don’t need. Time to pray and ponder!

Some of it is to numb myself, school is about to start and that means I’ve got a lot to think about.  Am I ready? Did I plan well? Are we ready? The answer to these is at least a partial no as there are at least three things I can list that are undone… Oh, make that four… Five… The list is growing.

It is very easy to get caught up in it all, but the truth is worrying won’t change any of it and in fact makes it harder to deal with the to do list.  If I can step out of the worry, there is less need to numb.  It’s just not that easy to do.  Reviewing the to do list might help…

  • Install Rosetta Stone on the boys computers – this can be done in Collingwood during the weekend, worry abated
  • Review new writing textbook comes AFTER I pick it up from the friend who brought it back from the states for me… Hmm, this one could be harder to fix
  • Install struts in the van back door… Might need to be moved to another to do list
  • Install whiteboard anchors in Mikes room 
  • Print off and fill out first week lesson planner (this I’ve done mentally, it’s just a matter of doing the physical)
  • Do the tomatoes from the garden next step (boil and crush them)
  • Arrange boys desks as school desks – best done Monday night
  • Send in legal letter to school board after signing, has to be tonight

Some hold more anxiety than others, so I’ll try to tackle them first.  If I can remove the source than hopefully the need to numb will go down, along with it all the bad coping mechanisms like eating and shopping with it.

I’ll also pray my prayer for addicted persons. And, pray for you in the hopes you’ll pray for me.  Now, back to that to do list…

Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing your insights with us!


Leave a Reply

Categories

