Posted by: cmittermeier | June 17, 2017

Routine

Years ago, when I decided to accept being a stay-at-home Mum, I realized I needed a routine, some structure if you will. Having always relied on school and work to provide the backbone and expectations of life, I had never created one of my own. 

At one point in time, everyone had a similar order to their day. There were various calls, be it a rooster, or church bells, that marked out your day in sections along with the tasks of those moments. In my lifetime, I saw those structures challenged and fall. Shift work was no longer for emergency workers long before I came into this world – factories figured that out much earlier. That may have contributed to the challenges for the removal of structure, many things did. Banking hours were challenged because people needed access to their money, and the old system could not handle the volume as people tried to cram it all in during the lunch hour or by leaving work a bit earlier. Grocery stores needed to be open on Sunday because the lines on Saturday were reaching a breaking point. I remember waiting in the car for the store to open Saturday morning in the hopes we could be in and out and not get stuck six deep in a line. Even regular stores like Sears, malls, began to open later… all because fewer and fewer people were shopping during the day and too many needed to accomplish too much when they were not working. 

Our daily rhythm was rewritten, or more specifically unwritten – all in the name of freedom. So here I found myself, nearly forty years of age without a routine and realizing I really needed one.
 I went first, don’t laugh, in search of a nursery rhyme.

Wash on Monday
Iron on Tuesday,
Mend on Wednesday,
Churn on Thursday,
Clean on Friday,
Bake on Saturday,
Rest on Sunday.

It was my start for structure. Our faith is vast, searching the wisdom it has accumulated over two thousand years, and before that, what, ten thousand years of Judaic life is not a task for mortals, even google has its limits.  We rely on God a lot to direct our eyes, so it should not be a surprise that as I was searching of structure in my life the Church Calendar kept coming up. Article after article on families organizing their life around it and not the school year seemed to magically be written and posted just when I was searching for structure! Imagine that! No google search, these were my everyday go to blogs. You’d have thought I had written in to the authors and requested their secrets for time structuring.   I’m not a dummy, so within short order I started looking at time structures in the church.

I learned about the church year. I came across daily structures, like the liturgy of the hours. I came across weekly rhythms. And eventually, I came across the concept of “a Rule of Life”.

What is a rule? In a nutshell, it’s the basic routine of your world. Some orders are very fixed, wake at this hour, do this till that hour, then do this till that hour, etc. Other orders are more flexible, with a set list of basic tasks in a day but no fixed times. 

Building one takes time and a lot of prayer. God knows what areas of your life will bend to routine easiest, and what frequencies are needed to make it work for you.  Some women like sweeping their floors every day, others not.  This morning I talked with a friend who was cleaning her fridge today, she did it last month. I don’t clean mine that frequently – and that’s my point! God knows her level of need and mine.  God also knows what areas need structure the most, and he sees with much fuller wisdom than we do.  Three squares a day, seven days a week is a lot of work for some of us – so I know friends who prep it all out for the week or the month in one big day. For others, they love having the anchor points of meal prep in their day, it breaks the day into chunks and allows them the day to day flexibility in meal choice.  It does not take much to show how inpossible it would be to give a formula for building a routine outside of prayer!

So today, if your found this blog because you need to build some routine into your world, don’t turn to me but to God the father who has it all planned out, not as some maze you follow to get the cheese, but as a holistic journey designed to heal and reveal your best, truest self. Pick up the word, yup, the bible. Before you open it, ask your guardian angel and the Holy Spirit to guide your readings and after quietening your breath and possibly your mind, open it up.  Look over the names of the books, and get started where you are led.  Proverbs is short, individual bits of advice that are worth pondering far longer than their words linger on your lips. Don’t race.  Leviticus is the book I’m called to, and I have no clue why! In the past, I have found help in many odd books – Daniel was a special favourite! So was the book of Tobit, go Raphael go!

Though society cannot be relied on for routine anymore, God always can.  He knows your pace when others don’t. He knows the best place to start when others focus on their tried and true lists.  So, go listen. The answers await in the Word.

Leave a Reply

Categories

